One day after the Duchess of Sussex launched the modern episode of Archetypes, Ling shared a photograph on her Instagram web page with daughter Jett and Meghan.

tvguidetime.com

“So loved speaking to Meghan Markle for her podcast #Archetypes,” the journalist captioned the black and white snap.

“She is the sort of vivid and compelling conversationalist and I hope people make the effort to get to understand her past the regularly insidious headlines.”

Meghan, forty one, welcomed Margaret Cho and Ling to the show to talk about Asian representation and the “Dragon Lady” trope. Ling, 49, spoke to the lack of representation she saw at the small display screen, revealing that it become a riding force for her to go into journalism.

“To be honest with you, the purpose why I pursued broadcast journalism in any respect turned into because growing up, it’s the most effective direction that I idea turned into available to me.

I changed into a person who grew up in a broken home,” the CNN host explained. “My parents had been divorced after I was 7, and the tv turned into continually on in my home.

It become like my favored babysitter. And I used to have these fantasies of being a part of it by some means, because I notion, if I can get on TV, maybe I will have a better existence at some point.

But nobody appeared remotely like me on TV besides for Connie Chung.”

“She nonetheless is simply the image of elegance and intelligence and, and grace. And she in reality allowed me to recognise what become feasible.

She became the handiest Asian person on a countrywide level. And so I idea that this would be my most effective pathway,” she endured.

Ling said shared she often reveals that she’s the “simplest Asian female in the room,” but “I find myself no longer shying away from it and maintaining myself even greater.”

“I think that it really is something that is so vital for us to deliver to the younger generation and to our children that we need to take up area. We virtually do,” she continued.

“And I think culturally, specifically within the Asian tradition, it is been one which that form of discourages that.

You understand, there’s that, popular time period, the nail that stands proud receives hammered down.

You recognise, I assume the, the, the extremely good thing of being an Asian American, particularly being an American, is… we want to paste out.

We do not need to be hammered down. And we will convey this wealthy history and this wealthy way of life together with us.

But we’re empowered to be able to say what we need, each time we need.”

— News Reel (@NewsReel247) October 5, 2022